top of page

Beginner's Guide on How to Live a Happier Life

I've been working really hard lately on finding my true happiness. It's so easy to fit in and follow the crowd to appear satisfied or happy. It's all a facade. I look back on a lot of my life that seems to be mindless. All of the partying, studying, working, I was the full balanced act. I was having fun and doing everything right, yet I still was not fulfilled. Today, I can see much clearer. Life is about purpose. I want to help those that I can. I want to work hard to make myself a better human being for myself and others. These are a few habits I've picked up so far!

1. "Lions don't lose sleep over the opinions of sheep."

Do not take other people's opinions to heart. This has to be the hardest one, but it makes such a difference in your life when you truly stop listening to the "haters." Not everyone will like you, so stop trying. Be the absolute most honest version of yourself and true friends will flock to you.

2. "Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment." Buddha

Live in the present. My boyfriend and I go to dinner and talk about what we will want do after dinner ends. Why can't we just enjoy the moment? I told myself to stop planning when I should be living. Now if you know me, you know I'm a huge planner, and I constantly find myself worrying about the future. I take my planning day by day now. Take the time to plan your day out in the morning. The first thing I do when I want to have a productive day is write a list on my iPhone of everything I want done.

3. "Make it a lifestyle, not a duty."

THIS IS SO IMPORTANT. Change your lifestyle to a positive one! YOU choose your happiness. What helped me the most was exercising. I just started yoga, and it has been amazing. It gets me out of bed and off of Netflix. I have no choice but to be productive. Thanks pop culture for making it cool to stay in bed all day with pizza and Netflix. Namaste in bed? No thanks! I'm going to live a healthy lifestyle. (Did I mention I just watched the first two seasons of Baby Daddy in less than 24 hours? Minor step back. hehe.)

4. "Travel far enough, you meet yourself."

Take the time to travel even if it's only an hour away. Studies show that people who travel are happier. Go hike a trail or discover a new place. I don't know! I do not have much experience with this at all, but I'm in the process of changing that. I've traveled to Puerto Rico and Miami recently. Next is hopefully a girls trip to Europe!

5. "Always be genuinely happy for others."

Again, this is all about how you choose to see life. You have complete control over your life and emotions. Never be jealous or try to compete with someone. Girls love to talk each other down and gossip when something good happens in your life. "Did you hear Jenny got asked on a date? He probably just wants to sleep with her." NO girl NO. Maybe some guy is really into her because she's a great person. This to me is the most important of all. You cannot be truly happy for others until you are truly happy with yourself, and you cannot love anyone else until you love yourself. Positivity radiates from those who choose happiness above all else.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page